Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Rescued oscars not doing well

Rescued oscars not doing well 1 week 4 days ago #70049

• Effy
  • Poecilia reticulata
I am a veterinary student who rescues reptiles and aquatics as a hobby. We recently rescued 2 large oscars (~10-11 inches) and one large pleco (about 11 inches) from a situation where they had been living in almost black water for 3 years (Living together for a total of with filters that have not been changed in a LONG time. They are in a 100 gal tank they came with and have two quiet flow 55/75 pumps (estimated for 90 gal tanks each) one is new and one that they came with. Both oscars have HITH disease pretty badly and were not eating anything we offered when they first arrived. We did a 50% water change when they arrived and transported the other 50% of the water from the old tank. We have done 25% water changes every day for about 1 week when they first arrived until water levels were showing no ammonia. We treated them with general cure from API for HITH disease and do a 50% water change every week to maintain no ammonia in the water. The HITH disease is starting to heal and they have gained an appetite back, but not quite a normal appetite. They will only eat the marine pellets the previous owner was feeding and they refuse to eat any of the krill, squid or other frozen/thawed food they are offered.