Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Newbie and need help!

Newbie and need help! 3 months 4 weeks ago #71936

• Sfergy
  • Poecilia reticulata
Hi all, i'm new to the forum and for any replies please assume i am a complete novice when it comes to fish keeping.

I have had my 200L Fluval tank now for around 1 year and i decided to put some bigger fish in so it looked like there was something in there as my Plec, 2 x neons and swordtail just made it look empty.

I went to a local fish shop and after pointing at fish i thought looked good and the guy telling me they could go in my tank and together, i walked away with 2 x silver dollars (about 4in each) 1 x Angel (about 3in) and a baby albino Oscar (about 4in).

I quickly learnt that the Oscar did not like my old fish as he ate them all within the first 2 days, but he does get on with my other new fish and i learnt that my tank is probably to small as i am constantly battling with high nitrates.

So i need help. i'm at the point where i want to take the next step with this hobby and start taking it more seriously (we all start somewhere) after much negotiation i've managed to talk my wife into getting a bigger tank and i have found one that i like (more importantly she likes) and even better it fits perfectly.

so my first question is before i make any large purchases is - is a 500l tank adequate for keeping these fish for there life span as i do not want to have to upgrade again? This is the tank i am looking at www.shirleyaquatics.co.uk/aquarium-suppl...ab-white/awaazh1200w but not from that shop as i've managed to find it much cheaper.

My next question - The tank is a massive step up for me as i currently use an internal filter and heater and this new one comes with a sump and everything which is what is drawing me to it as i do not want to have to spend extra money on extra things. Are sumps good? Are they easy to maintain? Is this tank worth the money?