Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Cost effectiveness of DIY 100+ Gallon tank

Cost effectiveness of DIY 100+ Gallon tank 2 years 5 months ago #63271

• Pixile
  • Poecilia reticulata
HI! I am new to site and I am looking into building a wall tank in my home. I am wanting it to be pretty big for my Oscars, Bingo (Tiger) and Gringo (Lutino). I am thinking that I want it to be 5' long and about 3-4' tall and about 2' wide, it should be close to 300 gallons. I am in Arkansas so pricing this is not going well for me as this is my first DIY tank LOL. Any help would be appriecated on pricing or where to order from. Thanks in Advance for all your help!!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Cost effectiveness of DIY 100+ Gallon tank 2 years 5 months ago #63273

• Northstar5
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 217
A tank of what you are thinking would be outrageous expensive. The taller you go the thicker the glass or acrylic. Mega dollars. You also have to consider how to get to the bottom for cleaning. 3ft difficult. 4ft impossible, unless you have an NBA center wingspan. To be honest, the best tank for you would be a standard 6x2x2 180g. New with warranty. Something in the $800 range.
1600gals of South and Central American cichlids. Some with just a "wee" bit of attitude!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Pixile

Cost effectiveness of DIY 100+ Gallon tank 2 years 5 months ago #63275

• toom
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 444
Hello

150 x 60cm = 0.9 square Meters that is around 9.6 square feet if I am right. If you want really 3 to 4 feet hight so Lets say 100 cm this would without the weight of the stand, tank, Layout about 900 Liters or close to 2000 pounds on an very small footprint. I doubt this will work even with an reinforced floor, only on an solid one. Also 3 to 4 feet tanks are a pain to maintain until you are 6.5 feet tall and have orang utan arms.